What is included under a standard homeowner’s insurance policy?

Check your policy to see what’s covered and what’s not. Generally speaking, a typical homeowner’s insurance company covers risk events like fires and tornadoes. If these incidents wreck your home, you can rest assured you’ll be covered.

Risk events like floods and earthquakes, on the other hand, aren’t usually covered under a standard policy. Homeowner’s insurance companies consider these to be ‘too risky.’

So, if a flood is the cause of your home’s foundation damage, then don’t expect your homeowner’s insurance company to pay for the repairs.

The following table shows a summary of risk events covered and those that a standard policy doesn’t cover.

Events Covered:

  • Water Damage
  • Volcanic Eruption
  • Falling Objects
  • Vandalism
  • Damage Caused by Vehicles
  • Riots or Civil Disturbances
  • Explosions
  • Windstorm
  • Damage Caused by Aircraft
  • Lightning or Fire

Events Not Covered:

  • Earthquakes
  • Construction Work Damage
  • Floods
  • Sinkholes
  • Damage Due to Neglect and Improper Maintenance
  • Pressure from Tree Roots
  • Natural Settling or Cracking of the Foundation
  • Foundation upheaval or expansion

Floods and earthquakes need supplemental insurance policies. So, if you live in areas where they are prone, add them to your policy.

Risk events like faulty construction, tree roots, and natural settling won’t be covered by your standard homeowners insurance. These are considered a case of negligence.

What is SR-22 Insurance?

SR22 auto insurance is a high-risk driver policy designed to rehabilitate drivers who display dangerous and/or irresponsible behavior. How? Certain violators are required…

Read More »